Giving Thanks Celebration

Join your colleagues for an afternoon of gratitude in UNC Asheville's Giving Thanks Program on November 8, 2017 at 1:00 pm. in the Sherrill Center.

We will honor those employees who have reached milestone anniversaries, and announce the winners of the Distinguished Staff Awards. Award recipients will receive cash prizes*.

Recoginze your co-workers by nominating them for one of Distinguished Staff Awards.

Individual Awards:

  • The Don Locke Execellence in Diversity Award
  • The Spirit of Innovation Award
  • The Spirit of Sustainability Award
  • Distinguished Staff Award for Service Excellence

Team Award:

  • Distinguished Staff Team Award for Service Excellence

Easy Electronic Nomination Process:
To submit a nomination, simply access the online Staff Nomination form. Fill in all fields, then concisely describe your nominee’s distinct achievements and/or contributions. Make sure your nominee's supervisor is aware of your nomination.

All nominations are reviewed and selected by UNC Asheville's Senior Staff. Winners will be announced at the Giving Thanks program on November 8, 2017 in the Sherrill Center, room number 417.

If you have any questions, please contact Karla Piccirillo, Manager of Employment and Affirmative Action at 250-2358.

Distinguished Staff Awards

The Distinguished Staff Awards program recognizes the hard work, dedication, and accomplishments of UNC Asheville employees and one team. UNC Asheville is privileged to have outstanding staff doing exceptional work for our campus.  It only takes a quick glance around to identify many staff members and teams who exceed expectations every day.  Please consider nominating a UNC Asheville staff member and/or team that you feel deserves to be honored for their contributions to our university campus.

Awards are presented annually to staff members selected by the university’s Senior Staff from all nominations received.

Nominees and award winners will be recognized at the Giving Thanks celebration on Wednesday, November 8, 2017.

Four categories of individual awards:
• Don Locke Excellence in Diversity Award
• Spirit of Innovation Award
• Spirit of Sustainability Award
• Distinguished Staff Award for Excellence

Individual recipients receive a cash award of $1,000 (Gross).
Awards are subject to federal and state withholding tax.

One team award category:
• Distinguished Staff Team Award for Excellence

Recipients of the Team Award receive a cumulative cash reward of $3000 (Gross)
Awards are subject to federal and state withholding tax.

The team selected to receive the Distinguished Staff Team Award shares equally, and exclusively, among only the nominated team members.  For example, a four-member team would divide the award among the four people named in the nomination.  A “team” is defined as a permanent or project team consisting of 3-10 members who work together on a regular basis.

Service Awards Overview

The Service Awards Program recognizes employees' total state service in increments of five years through retirement. All employees reaching a 5-year increment of State service (SHRA, EHRA Staff and Faculty) receive gifts to commemorate their serve and are recognized by their colleagues at the 2017 Giving Thanks Awards Program on November 8, 2017 at 1:00 pm. in the Sherrill Center, room number 417.